Nature

I’ve been approached by a community college about teaching a few writing courses. I’m kind of excited about the possibility because the campus is only half a mile away and I love the idea of biking back and forth, even though a half mile ride hardly counts for anything as far as exercise goes.  So I rode my bike up there the other day to fill out paperwork and used my $1.50 chain to secure it to a bush. This, I have to say, is a benefit of living in a small town.

I have to remind myself of benefits like this frequently because I am more of a city person.  Today I was reminded of how lucky I am to live in such a beautiful place as I pedaled down a street that curved along the marsh.  A whooting owl provided music for the ride and for some reason I marveled that I live in a place where kayaks are common lawn ornaments.

Just 15 miles away on Hunting Island the severe beauty of nature is even more obvious.  I love to bike there and I took the picture above this spring. Can you tell what it is?

Go forth, enjoy nature, and ride.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Anne Bingham said,

    Marsh hay?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment