The Sprint

I was reading an article about exercise bikes where trainers experimented with making clients alternate all-out sprinting with a comfortable pace. They found that this technique helped burn a healthier percentage of fat. (If I come across the article again I’ll give more exact data… but there are so many magazines and papers in my house that I’m making no promises here.)

Anyway, I thought I could apply this principle to The Hot Pink Bike Route.  So every day that I rode last week I looked for patches of road where there wasn’t too much traffic and there weren’t too many driveways.  Then I sprinted. In the short-term, I can tell you that this technique definitely increases heart rate.  And it isn’t too hard either!  We’ll see where it takes me in the long run.

It is still quite chilly here, so I’ve been riding in the mid afternoon — something I avoid in the warmer months.  But with the sun overhead I was able to get some cool pics of the shadows my wheel was making.

Onward I roll….

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Anne Bingham said,

    I think the technique is called interval training. I bet there is a ton of stuff about it online somewhere!

  2. 2

    kamikinard said,

    I’ll have to read up on it! As long as it is a simple concept, I seem to be able to handle it. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

