Back in the Saddle Again…

After riding on Christmas day with my daughter (one of her gifts was a hot pink mountain bike) we left town to visit family for nine days.  This was my first exended period of time away biking since I started this blog. I didn’t think it would make a huge difference to suspend my routine and since I couldn’t take the bike with me, I just didn’t worry about it.  I should have. Because nine days where exercise has stopped – but eating hasn’t – leaves you with tight pants and that feeling that can only be described as blech.

So today, on the coldest day of the season so far, I put on a ski cap, coat, and gloves and got back in the saddle.  And the saddle was pretty darn cold.  But that wasn’t the worst part of the ride.  Neither was the fact that I’m pretty sure that the first person I passed was laughing at me.  Or the fact that when I saw my friend checking her mail that she had to pick up her dog and put it in front of her face to hide her smile.  (I know I looked ridiculous!)  The worst part of the ride was the part where I was huffing and puffing.  Because I was huffing and puffing a lot more today than I did before I left town.

So it’s back in the saddle again tomorrow.  And the next day.  And so on. And so on…

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    PSM said,

    No fair – those who don’t ride should not laugh!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

