The Seat®: The Final Installment

on a kid's bike

In my last post, I reflected on how The Seat® came into my possession some time after the unwise purchase of a $50 bike.  Here is how The Seat® has recently influenced The Hot Pink Bike Route.

After the $50 bike started falling apart piece-by-piece we decided to give it up for lost, dismantle it, and use it for parts. What we should have realized, of course, is that a bike not worth $50 while still in one piece is worth even less as a pile of cheaply made parts.  So as we were discussing whether or not there was a single part worth saving, my daughter quickly honed in on the one part that was: The Seat®. 

Now The Seat® (worth $50) has been installed on her $30 kid’s bike.  It looks odd, I confess.  My daughter, however, is so thrilled with The Seat®’s “padding made of cushion-soft lycra and gel” that she’s dying to ride.  Twice last week she motivated me to ride when I was tempted not to.  If this trend continues, The Seat® will be worth every penny of the $50 that I didn’t have to pay to begin with.  Hmmm.  Maybe if I purchased one for every member of my family I’d be three times as motivated to ride…

One of the places we rode last week was to the Beaufort Shrimp Festival

One of the places we rode last week was to the Beaufort Shrimp Festival

 

If not for The Seat®, I may have never known my alma mater funded a research vessel that went to important destinations like the Beaufort Shrimp Festival!

If not for The Seat®, I may have never known my alma mater funded a research vessel that went to important destinations like the Beaufort Shrimp Festival!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    shannon said,

    That’s a good one! I like the idea that you increase your motivation by getting someone else in the family motivated. Sorry it hasn’t worked on me yet. I’ll keep working on it! Love Shannon

  2. 2

    Donna Earnhardt said,

    Whatever gets you moving…go for it!

    I recently purchased the Wii fit PLUS for our Wii. I have exercised more in the last two days than I have the whole month. It’s amazing! I’d much rather be outside hiking the mountains of NC. But as I can’t go this week, this will have to do.

    Happy Biking!!

    peace,
    Donna

    • 3

      kamikinard said,

      Hi Donna,
      If you keep popping in and promoting the Wii, you may add another great exercise inspiration to the blog! I still have been reluctant to try Wii fit, but biking plus Wii fit (especially on rainy days) would be even better than just biking! Thanks for commenting!

      Kami


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

