Why I Bought a Hot Pink Bike

bike

I bought a hot pink bike because the only other color they had at the hardware store was royal blue.

I bought a hot pink bike because my youngest child is nine and a half.  This means that every day for nine and a half years I have awakened with the same reoccurring thought.  “Today I will start my diet.”  It’s not happening, people. 

I bought a hot pink bike because three years ago we moved from a house with two sets of stairs to a house with zero.  And I have gained fifteen pounds.  So, refusing to believe that the five pounds per year are just the age factor, I started thinking about what in my routine had changed.  I figured that all of those little trips up and down the stairs had cumulatively burned a lot of calories.  And since I don’t like to exercise, I needed to find a way to make a lot of little trips.

I bought a hot pink bike because I’d decided to set a goal of riding for at least fifteen minutes a day. Yes, I know it’s a pathetic goal.  But let’s face it, this is a blog for people with pathetic exercise habits.  It’s a blog for people who want to take small rides forward and see where they end up.  And it’s a blog for me to see if making a public commitment to easily obtainable goals can do what no diet or gym membership has accomplished for me yet.

Anyone else up for seeing if small commitments can bring worthy rewards?  Come along!  Lets see where the road takes us.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mr WordPress said,

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    • 2

      Penny Hadgeoff said,

      Love this! Mine is a more sedate electric blue. The rear wheel wobbles ever since I put it into the back of my truck to ride it on the beach (huge mistake!). Thank you for a good laugh!

  2. 3

    karla said,

    hey kami- i am with you. i had taken off all the “baby weight” only to gain it back this last year when my dad died. i am committed to walking with other moms in my community. today we walked over 4 miles and i was draggin’ tail. tomorrow i am set for 4 more. yes we can!!! sending my support to you over the miles. k

  3. 4

    kamikinard said,

    Thanks, Penny. I’ve learned you really need a beach bike and a road bike. The beach is too harsh!
    Go Karla, keep up the walking! And thanks for the support.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

